2005-2006 Missouri State Ice Bears
David Ellis in the Alumni Game


Missouri State's Season Closes With Banquet/Game

04/02/06 - SPRINGFIELD, MO. - An exciting hockey season came to an end with the Fifth Annual Missouri State Hockey Players Game and Award Banquet on Saturday. About 50 friends and family showed up to see the Players (current Missouri State rostered players) beat the Alumni 19-6, although the scoreboard showed 23-23 as the final buzzer sounded.

I had a chance to play goalie for the "players" side as we faced the "alumni" team. The first period was close, 2-1 in favor of the players. I stopped a few shots, (see photo to the right) while trading time every 10 minutes with Ice Bears regular goalie Michael Poepping.

Things opened up in the second period as the Players put 12 goals on the board. I gave up one, and the score was 14-2 after two periods.

At the Awards and Recognition Banquet later in the evening, WebSports Radio was given the Ice Bears 2005/2006 Media Award for promoting Ice Bears hockey. Dan and I are honored by it and were completely surprised.

Player awards for Offensive Player of the Year went to Dan Odenwald. Defensive Player of the Year was awarded to Clayton Baker who also picked up the Scholar Athlete of the Year award.

There was a tie for the 110% Performance Award as Josh Conlin and goaltender Michael Brown were praised for their contributions to the team. The "Andy Marquart" award for all around person on and off the ice went to Senior Andy Werkmeister.

The final award for the varsity team was another tie. Seniors Dan Odenwald and Andy Hellwig were both voted as team Most Valuable Players.

This was the first year the JV team had awards handed out. The 110% Performance Award went to Andy Panullo. The MVP Award was given to Defenseman Dan Ragon who played the last three games in goal when the Varsity team took three goalies to the ACHA and MACHA Playoffs.